Topic: Charlotte, NC

Subject: Tips for Networking on LinkedIn
Don Minges
Member: 2009
Submitted on 09-01-11 1:46 pm
These are the suggestions from a self-taught guru on LinkedIn. Feel free to contact Dennis or me with any questions.
Don Minges
===============

Effective Networking on LinkedIn

I have transitioned from a reserved CFO to a less reserved one as a result of Networking. Here are some key objectives that I want to share with you.

1.) You must have an up to date and well written resume. Keep in mind that if you don't capture their attention in the first five or six inches then you lose them. If you need a resume referral, I can refer you to an individual who is awesome.

2.) Sign up on LinkedIn and take the information from your resume and put it on your site. LinkedIn is a valuable tool when it comes to Networking.

3.) Join LinkedIn Groups of Like Mind and / or industry experience.

4.) Reach out to individuals in your group via an inmail and ask them to meet you for coffee. Comment on their exprertise and ask if you can meet them for coffee so you can learn more about what they do and how you can help. Also, ask them if it would be okay to tell those in your LinkedIn group about what they do and give their web site - no phone numbers or e-mail addresses.

5.) If they offer leads or other individuals to whom you should reach out, make sure to thank them. Also, when you do meet with their referrals, give them the courtesy of letting them know when you met with them. Also, make sure you know what they do and refer them respectably.

6.) Always send a hand written thank you to thank them for their time and include your business card.

7.) You may want to think about putting a Power Point on your LinkedIn profile to emphasize what you can do for them.