Topic: General Posts

Subject: Suggestions for roles to focus on when not traditional CPA / Finance person
Sylvia Tsen
Member: 2020
Hi Everyone - I would welcome any advice on my job search. I have a CPA audit and IFRS early career with KPMG but in the last 14 years was with IFAC - basically the global professional association for the CPA profession. Members in the US are AICPA, IMA and in the UK ICAEW, etc. My executive director role was a blend of operations and IT, managing the business with the exec team (budgets, strategic initiatives like culture transformation, staffing issues, etc), board and governance, and thought leadership / strategic programs. 

I am new to job search and feel the demand is for functional experts with deep industry expertise. I am more a generalist but I've always utilized my finance and accounting background and audit experience to drive my problem solving, analyze issues, get to the root cause of operational and project issues. 

any suggestions on how to focus my search and types of organizations to look for? 

Many thanks and I hope everyone is well. 

Sylvia 

Replies
Stewart McElwee
Subject: Re:Suggestions for roles to focus on when not traditional CPA / Finance person

Submitted on 05-06-20 2:36 pm.
Hi Syliva,

I would be happy to connect and discuss some of the methods I have been using recently that I have found have worked. Here are some tips, which are not exhaustive:

1) Your "brand"! You are not a generalist, rather you are, for example, "A finance and accounting professional whose speciality is in ensuring the executive management of financial services firms are effectivly managing the business. You do this through budgeting, cultural transformation, staff optomisation, thought leadership and various strategic initiatives. You have been successful becuse you have leveraged your finance, accounting and audit background to analyze issues and drive problem solving to get to the root of operational, IT and project issues."