Topic: Manufacturing

Subject: Cash Flow Management
Frank Armenio
Member: 2002
Submitted on 02-12-11 6:04 pm
I work as a CFO for an organization that is a manufacturer and been in business since for over 20 years. They have had a very successful business selling products to the government and been very profitable. During the last year they introduced a new product with new technology. The organization (before I arrived) signed a supplier agreement and entered into a purchase order for enough components to build 9000 units. In addition, they already built 1000 units on the shelf that are not selling anywhere near the rate that the President and Chairmen anticipated. Only a couple of hundred units have been sold to date. Obviously this has been a significant drain on cash flow since no revenue is coming in to support the infrastructure (e.g. materials, people, space, overhead, etc.). The organization has not exactly following lean manufacturing concepts and the line of credit is near capacity.

I have prepared a bottoms-up budget for 2011 including a cash budget and determined a cash flow break even point for camera sales. I have urged to Chairman and President to that they need to take action ASAP to align the revenue with the expenses before there is a point of no return in the cash flow situation. The frustration I am encountering is that I cannot seem to get the President and Chairman to take the situation seriously enough to take appropriate action. The belief is that large quantities of units will eventually sell. I would like to know if any FENG member has been in this situation and some advice on how to proceed.

Your comments would be appreciated.

Replies
Mike Moles
Member: 2010

Subject: Re:Cash Flow Management

Submitted on 02-14-11 11:21 am.